Many employees may not be fully aware of all the rights afforded to them under California law. California employment law is complex and is regularly changing, and many employees may not always have the resources necessary to keep up to date with the multitude of state, federal, and administrative decisions that employers must abide by.
Here are only some of the rights that employees should know about:
If your employer employs 20 or more employees in California, the New Parent Leave Act may grant you up to 12 weeks of job-protected time off to bond with a newborn or adopted child;
California’s current minimum wage rate is $10.50 per hour for businesses with 25 employees or less, and $11.00 per hour for businesses with 26 employees or more;
All California employees (part time and full time) are entitled to paid sick leave;
If your employer has misclassified you as an independent contractor and gives you a 1099, you may be entitled to payment of overtime, missed meal breaks, and missed rest breaks;
If your employer does not provide you with an uninterrupted, 30-minute meal break, you may be entitled to a premium payment for any missed meal breaks;
Employees are entitled to overtime compensation for any hour worked over 8 hours a day and over 40 hours per week – not one or the other!